15 weeks, 57 miles and my first King of the Hill attempt.

This week’s motivation has been split very clearly between trying to maintain a 72-75 miles per week average for the month of March, and being well rested enough to run the 6 hours today taking into account the level of elevation for each 10k.

I did 2 laps of the 5.4 mile route on Wednesday and then just one loop of the 7.5 mile route on Thursday and Friday. Apart from being appalled at how cold I was on the last of these, the rest of it was pretty uneventful.

This balancing act paid off based on today’s race, I had set out aiming for 5 laps of the 10km route which averaged out to 1hr 12 minds per lap. I was able to start at a fast pace and finished the first lap in just over an hour. Since the first 5k felt virtually all uphill, I was happy with this. I was very conscious of the time for reaching the top of the hill on each lap and then getting back to the start. Apart from a horrific 4th ascent taking around 46 minutes, I was able to remain under the average pace needed for each lap.

The race organiser had said we could start a lap and finish outside of the 6 hours but it wouldn’t count towards the total in the race. I was very keen to have every hour of running count! For my 5th lap I had 1hr 20min to get in under the cutoff. Luckily I managed the ascent in under 40 minutes so could relax a bit on the last descent knowing I could get back in time. I finished with 6 minutes to spare and my energy levels crashed virtually instantly. I spent most of the presentation part resting my hands on my knees and slowly making my way through a 2L bottle of coke. I think the near 4000ft of elevation must have taken more out of me than I expected. The crowns they had for King of the Hill and Queen of the Hill were ace and all of us took part in a group photo which was nice.

My main motivation for this week came from a rather unusual source, I had spent a very worthwhile couple of hours watching the film adaptation of the ‘I Kill Giants’ comic book. I read the digital edition of the comic a while back which was incredible and this week was genuinely one of very few times where a movie is more than just a lobotomised version of the original material. It is a fantastic story and the cast really manage to carry the messages and themes from the comic book well.

It is as good an example of an escapism story with a resilience underlining, I think I’ve ever seen. There isn’t really any quotes I can lift from it without spoiling a big part of the plot. Hopefully the quote below will show what I got from it without spoiling it for anyone.

Wallpaper_2435bc_5431104.jpg

 
1
Kudos
 
1
Kudos

Now read this

5 weeks remaining, 5 months since last long run was less than 28 miles, 5 years since first marathon.

“In 2002 Hamilton crashed early in the three-week Tour of Italy, fracturing his shoulder. He kept riding, enduring such pain that he ground eleven teeth down to the roots, requiring surgery after the Tour. He finished second. “In 48... Continue →