3 weeks left, 39 miles and unexpectedly urgent need for perseverance during a taper week

I had a largely positive outlook at the start of this week, my training plan only called for a total of 35 miles throughout the week with a long run of 18 miles. My first two training runs on Tuesday and Wednesday evenings should have been 5 and 7, but ended up only being 5.4 and 4 miles. My legs felt like they were stuck in cement for both of these. This should have been a sign of things to come!

I managed to do another of the 5.4 mile loops on Friday evening which was slightly more tolerable. I had an unorthodox way to overtake someone a few weeks back at the bottom of a hill, to avoid running onto the road and towards traffic, I had ran onto a slant where a grass verge led up to a car park which was above the pavement to the left and had ran along a brick wall for about 30 metres that was about 5 foot high.

IMG_1787.JPG

Being a bit of a man-child, I used this as something to look forward to for the first 3 miles of this route and enjoyed having the extra difficulty of balancing and not veering left. It must have looked rather strange to any drivers going past, seeing a 6'4" man doing this for no logical reason!

My 18 miles yesterday was quite challenging, I could maintain a steady pace for most of the distance but found it difficult to regulate my breathing. It wasn’t warm by any stretch of the imagination, although when it was sunny I found I couldn’t keep up the same pace. I think because the weekly total was only around half of the week before, my motivation wasn’t quite at the same level .

I finished the week with a 6.4 mile run this morning with my friend Paddy. This was considerably better than any of my other training this week. We managed to force a comparatively fast pace as opposed to our usual efforts and I didn’t have any of the difficulties encountered earlier in the week.

I had devoured the Adhanarand Finn audiobook of “The Way of the Runner” over about 3 days earlier in the week. This tells about his visit to Japan to train with professional runners there. It was gripping and there was a quote in it that was a very good example of inversion.

IMG_1786.JPG

Even though I really struggled for parts of my training this week, I did find this was true for after I’d finished each outing. Hopefully this will be a positive sign for the race in just under 2 weeks.

 
3
Kudos
 
3
Kudos

Now read this

23 weeks, 62 miles and my first midweek 3 a day

This week was great in terms of both being able to fit in an extra rest day to usual (3) and building my weekly long run back up above 30 miles. I started the week with two laps of 5.4 miles on Tuesday and Wednesday morning. These were... Continue →