43 weeks, 37 miles and a reminder about delayed gratification

I really struggled for motivation this week. I found the midweek running difficult to gain any enthusiasm for. I think this was because I wasn’t fully recovered from last weekend’s long run. Nevertheless I forced myself out of the house for 2 laps of 5.4 miles and 2 laps of 7.5 miles during the week to maintain something resembling consistency. I spent most of the time during these listening to podcasts and going through the motions ltterally and figuratively.

Today’s effort was definitely not podcast friendly. It had served as my main light at the end of the tunnel for this week and something I had looked forward to eventually happening since suggesting it to my brother Ben several weeks ago.

I have a sentimental fondness for the Fairfield Horseshoe route. My wife kindly let me sneak off to run it one morning on our mini-moon last year and I had ran it in the opposite direction when we were back in the Lake District for our anniversary in October. I had built this up to being a tough training run when discussing with Ben and he had finally talked himself into trying the route with me.

We had a bit of difficulty reaching the route from Rydal Hall and did a lap of the woods in their grounds before reaching the path towards Nab Scar. Ben took some photos on the way up to the top of Fairfield and although he appeared quite forlorn when we finally got there, he at least enjoyed the first part up into the clouds

FB_IMG_1545597775504.jpg

FB_IMG_1545597780322.jpg

FB_IMG_1545597783200.jpg

FB_IMG_1545597787852.jpg

FB_IMG_1545597804409.jpg

We had some peanut butter sachets and a beer each on our way back down. I provided some assurance that the wall on our right would lead us all the way back to Ambleside. Despite some trepidation about going past 4 bulls, we made it back to the car in one piece
FB_IMG_1545597809434.jpg

We had an absurd amount of energy bars and wraps to replenish our energy levels and I spent most of the drive back coercing him into trying the route again in the Spring.

I have really needed today’s run as something to rest this week on. There is a marvellous focus about going up a hill where you know nothing short of your best will get you up it. I think the anticipation of knowing I needed to be able to do this definitely helped me get through this week’s training. I came across this AA Milne quote a while back which explains this benefit well.
087b6267815821c2888e5ef80aa0526a.jpg

 
2
Kudos
 
2
Kudos

Now read this

13 weeks to go, 35 miles and a consistent recovery week

Similar to how my training started last week, I had my 2 rest days consecutively again on Monday and Tuesday. The Relentless Forward Progress plan called for 35 miles this week so my focus switched from the exact distance for each day to... Continue →