Everest CALM: Day 4

I’m really happy with how today went. It makes a massive difference this being your sole focus for the day. I had watched an episode of the Netflix documentary The Last Dance prior to meeting Paddy and was suitably inspired!

We reverted back to having breaks every 4 laps. This had been our strategy when Paddy was building up from 12 laps to 32 the day before this challenge. We had increased in increments of 4 so today was the next logical progression.

We had some salt tablets at 8 laps and 24 laps which I believe helped. I went through 2.5L of Vimto in my water bladder and Paddy managed to get by on just under 1L. There were a few comical moments where me and Paddy would offer words of encouragement to each other that were met with no discernable increase in pace from either of us!

A few months ago I had ran 36 laps on my own without breaks that took a similar time to our efforts today including breaks! Nature wasn’t as kind at that time of year and I remember it being considerably more difficult underfoot but I am still pleased with the improvement nevertheless. We had celebratory beers from the local Sainsburys and planned out a haphazard mostly alcohol free hydration strategy for tomorrow.

IMG-20200723-WA0004.jpg

Tomorrow will be difficult knowing there are still 2 days remaining after it in the challenge but I am confident we can get through the required elevation with a bit of perseverance. This quote from today’s episode of The Last Dance certainly helped with us getting through the required 36 laps.
Screenshot_20200519_005110.jpg

 
1
Kudos
 
1
Kudos

Now read this

Post race thoughts

“ It is not the critic who counts; not the man who points out how the strong man stumbles, or where the doer of deeds could have done them better. The credit belongs to the man who is actually in the arena, whose face is marred by dust... Continue →