Everest Calm : Day 7

Today was always going to be tough. Having run the previous 6 and set pb’s on two of those days, the accumulative effect was definitely being felt. The hours before, at least for myself, consisted mostly of excitement at finally finishing, mentally knowing we can make the numbers required, but also trying not to overlook the days task, trying to remind myself ‘ it ain’t over til it’s over’ - repping out 40 laps (the planned amount) would be no easy feet.

We had Martin’s friend and fellow runner Kate, along with her partner Laura join us - Kate had been doing the challenge separately near where she lives, but was keen to join us and try the hill for the last day. Having someone new join in these kind of efforts always breaths fresh energy into them and definitely added to the morale boost. It was also nice to have some varied conversation - talks between myself and Martin were fairly minimal at the best of times, but during the week we’ve had days where hours passed with barely any acknowledgement of the other, both locked in our own mental and physical battle against post hill.

Both Kate and Laura really held their own on the hill - it takes the soul of almost all on the first attempt - with kate getting 30 full laps out! They also brought delicious bread (lifesaver at lap 30) and some excellent beers, including a 7.5 % mango IPA that nearly had me running the laps after in a zigzag.

We have generally been doing the longer runs in sets of 4, however from lap 20 we decided to up this to sets of 5. Although physically slightly more each time, the mental aspect of this really helped, knowing we only had 4 sets left from this point, with a beer or soft drink to look forward to at each brake, made overcoming the final chapter that much more attainable.

At the brake on lap 35, a couple out walking with their young daughter asked the usual ‘how many have you done…why are you doing this ’ we’ve been asked all week, however then proceeded to listen, offer words of encouragement and even make a cash donation to the charity cause. One of many kind and supportive interactions with passers by this week that is not only touching, but also restoring of faith in the good of others around us. I was quickly reminded of the brutal honesty of children, when the young daughter wanted to show off her toy lion ‘ do you think he could make it up the hill?’ I remarked - ‘of course not he’s a toy!?’ she replied as if I’d just asked a stupid question, which I had. This made me laugh to the point I nearly forgot about the remaining 5 laps.

Having completed the Everest total around mid run yesterday, it would have been easy to take our foot of the gas, to coast, or to stop. But that was never going to happen. Early on in the week we’d both agreed to shoot for the next target - rum doodle - and both our stubborn and competitive nature was never going to accept anything less! Getting 40 today would take us to a total of 200 laps / 40'033 feet / 12'202 metres of elevation for the week. We’d decided 200 had a nice ring to it, and Martin had purchased some Westmalle Tripel 9.5% beers to celebrate making this. We finished on 40 laps for the day, a new PB for us both.

Through out the week, there were many tough laps. Many times I thought I couldn’t face the hill. Many times, honestly, that I wanted to quit. One quote that helped me overcome these feelings, that kept me going, is the following one I heard from Mr David Goggins. I’d told people for weeks I was doing this, talked alot about it and posted plenty on social media, not to mention received an overwhelming amount of support and donations for the charity cause. This quote screamed in my mind at every moment of doubt, and certainly will be one I apply to other area’s too:
‘Don’t just talk about it - be about it! Practice what you preach! Stay hard.’

Until the next one. X

received_1650700161747014.jpeg

 
1
Kudos
 
1
Kudos

Now read this

37 weeks, 75 miles and an interesting theory about back-up plans

I found this week morbidly enjoyable because of the extra challenge that running in freezing temperatures presents. I had decided to try for 2 sessions a day for Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday. These were all runs apart from the evening... Continue →