Everest Challenge days 15-22: 20 laps of 5.4 miles, 2400m of ascent and my first tumble of 2020!

I have long believed whenever I get too comfortable with my running that the universe has a way of ensuring I get kicked back into reality. I made a quip to a work colleague about being so familiar with the. 5.4 mile route that I subconsciously know where the kerbs are so don’t fall up them when not paying attention. After 2 lap days on Wednesday-Friday, it’s safe to day I was asking for this on lap 2 of 4 last Saturday morning!

IMG_20200418_130208.jpg

IMG_20200418_130146.jpg

I had not been paying attention running along past the White Rose Centre and waved to a couple who had moved onto the grass out of my way. I caught my foot on a branch or uneven bit of tarmac and went flying, using my right arm to break my fall! My right palm was bleeding quite heavily and I had a nasty graze on my right elbow. Being more pissed off with myself than anything else, I continued the rest of lap 2 and then rinsed the wound under the cold tap in the bath before heading back out for my final 2 laps, much to the disdain of my wife!!

I managed another 4 lap outing on Sunday and found the heat more palatable than I expected. My running at the start of this week consisted of 2 laps on Monday and Tuesday afternoons then another 2 laps this morning. My pace for Tuesday was considerably faster than the other 2 outings. I had been suitably inspired by the first 2 episodes of The Last Dance documentary about Michael Jordan on Monday night. It follows the story of the 1997/98 Chicago Bulls’ season and their aim to win 6 titles in the past 8 seasons. I really hope the remaining 8 episodes are as good as the first 2.

michael-jordan-basketball-quote-5-picture-quote-1.jpg

 
0
Kudos
 
0
Kudos

Now read this

33 weeks, 60.4 miles and a reminder why Sport matters

This week’s running has been one of the best weeks in recent memory. I covered a lap of 5.4 miles each on Tuesday and Wednesday mornings. I then did a morning and an evening lap of the same route on Thursday and finished the week with... Continue →