Everest CALM: Day 3

Today was frustrating for multiple reasons, I had a feeling I would be running on fumes when I had planned the week out based on my study and work commitments beforehand. I’ll get the excuses out of the way now, I hadn’t eaten as much as I should earlier in the day and being switched on from 10am yesterday until 4 today was always going to catch up with me part way up Post Hill!

Paddy had set off a lot faster than I expected and I tried to keep up for the first few laps then settled into being 5-7 seconds behind him at each summit. We have a gentleman’s code that we wait at the top of the hill and at the bottom before starting again. Despite the rests at 5 and 11 laps for our 17 today, I needed him to honour this for all sodding 17 of them!

One of the things I am most proud of in terms of this challenge is that we have picked a goal that is genuinely a stretch for both of us. It’s not a negative that it’s going to take our best efforts to get through all of the laps. So far we have 10,000ft completed, only 30,000 remain for the last 4 days!

Screenshot_20200722_213249.jpg

 
1
Kudos
 
1
Kudos

Now read this

7 weeks, 67 miles and some incredible examples of sympathetic joy

I had earmarked this week to get a decent amount of miles in across the weekend due to not having a full day at work looming with tomorrow being a Bank Holiday. My plan was at least 24 mid week and 36 across Saturday and Sunday. The week... Continue →